• Disclaimer: This Vendor's Forum is a paid-for commercial area. Unlike the rest of diyAudio, the Vendor has complete control of what may or may not be posted in this forum. If you wish to discuss technical matters outside the bounds of what is permitted by the Vendor, please use the non-commercial areas of diyAudio to do so.

BetsyK Simple TL

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I've been talking about this box for a few months, and I finally completed some graphics. This is a folded TL/TQWT that I modeled in Horn Response. I have built a couple of pairs, and they sound great! They started as a project for my brother and sister-in-law who needed moderately sized enclosures. I like this box over vented boxes due to the intrinsic bracing and midbass gain. I have used them against a wall and in corners. You could make the terminus front facing, but I'd make it as pictured as long as you can get them an inch from the wall. Of course, you could also make them side facing.

I have them stuffed with a pound and a half of polyfill per box. I have it concentrated towards the top, and tapering down to stop just above the folds. The brace is arbitrary. You could leave it out, or you could do something more substantial. The drawing assumes 3/4" material. I used "Arauco" ply, which is an almost entirely void free pine that costs less than $25 a sheet.

This is my favorite reasonably sized box for the BetsyK's. I hope you'll ask questions and try them!

Paul
Wild Burro Audio Labs - DIY Full Range Speakers

Attachments

• BetsyK_TL.jpg
    BetsyK_TL.jpg
    123.8 KB · Views: 2,090
  • BetsyK_TL_face.jpg
    BetsyK_TL_face.jpg
    112.1 KB · Views: 2,006
  • BetsyK_TL_folddims.jpg
    BetsyK_TL_folddims.jpg
    130.5 KB · Views: 1,980
Last edited: