• These commercial threads are for private transactions. diyAudio.com provides these forums for the convenience of our members, but makes no warranty nor assumes any responsibility. We do not vet any members, use of this facility is at your own risk. Customers can post any issues in those threads as long as it is done in a civil manner. All diyAudio rules about conduct apply and will be enforced.

Okto Research dac8 PRO and dac8 Stereo

What are you gaining by using the Minidsp U-DIO8? Wouldn't the direct USB be better? I assume that the USB on the DAC8 Pro board can handle 8 channels of audio, but it is not stated in the literature.

Got myself confused - Minidsp U-DIO8 doesn't do crossover duties, so that's not the way forward.

I would like to use MiniDSP as Linkwitz's original active crossover was created in MiniDSP, however MiniDSP don't offer anything with USB out. Looks like I'll be going direct USB to Okto 8 via Roon or JRiver convolution (Which I have no experience in!).

Got myself confused - Minidsp U-DIO8 doesn't do crossover duties, so that's not the way forward.

I would like to use MiniDSP as Linkwitz's original active crossover was created in MiniDSP, however MiniDSP don't offer anything with USB out. Looks like I'll be going direct USB to Okto 8 via Roon or JRiver convolution (Which I have no experience in!).
Acourate or Audiolense would be the way to go if you're going to use convolution.

Of course you can just use the filters in JRiver or Roon for free -- I've used the JRiver filters for an active crossover and I know it has Linkwitz-Riley filters (not sure off the top of my head what he used in the LX521). They work well and are free, but Acourate and Audiolense are far more powerful. You could always start with JRiver (or Roon -- I've never tired the filters in that) and then move on to Acourate or Audiolens later.