• Disclaimer: This Vendor's Forum is a paid-for commercial area. Unlike the rest of diyAudio, the Vendor has complete control of what may or may not be posted in this forum. If you wish to discuss technical matters outside the bounds of what is permitted by the Vendor, please use the non-commercial areas of diyAudio to do so.

Introducing the Buffalo III-SE-Pro 9028/9038

Hello everybody, i'm implementing my 9038 BIIse pro these days and i'm making some changes in the setup at the same time. So i have a bunch of doubts that i tried to solve reading along the thread, but i get lost, mainly because i'm a newbie about I2S communication.
I have a modified Amanero board with 22.57mhz and 24.57 mhz Crystek clocks onboard; i don't use Cronus/Rhea reclock for now. Amanero Firmware is 1096c master. I would like to use pure sync firmware as soon as i can (i have to get my mind on the how-tos).

1) To use Amanero as master, have i to connect MCK I2S pin on Amanero to BIII EXT MCK connector and remove VDD XO Trident modul? That would be a problem if i want to switch to another, non-master input source while i'm listening (my RPI, for example)... Is that strictly necessary?
2) If i should simply connect my Amanero to BIII without connecting MCK pin and removing VDD XO, would i run async without problems?
3) If i should succeed in flashing sync mode firmware to BIII, how should i set Amanero and BIII to use sync mode? In particular: MCK connection, VDD XO onboard or not, master/slave firmware needed on Amanero, and so on...
Finally, what about multiple firmware option/chips for BIIIse pro we talked about in april? :D
Thanks to anyone will try to clarify my doubts!