• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Need Help Understanding/Optimising a Schematic

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm a bit of a noob to this stuff.
The schematic of amp i'm choosing to build is not noob friendly. It has no wattages on resistors, no voltage on capacitors, unnamed tubes, hell i don't even know where inputs and outputs are:(. If somone would be so kind as to do a little ms paint edit on it i will try to re cad it. I need a suggestion on scematic cad too. I would like to cad in everything so it is complete and working with no fill in the dots.
This is the amp:

http://www.bonavolta.ch/hobby/en/audio/kt88_7.htm

thanks

ak_47_boy said:

In that case build something much simpler . A 400watt valve amp is not a good first project . The cost of the output valves , mains transformer and output transformer alone will cost an arm and a leg plus there is the safety and debugging aspect to consider . Buy a book such as Morgan Jones 'Valve Amplifiers' or buy a kit , it will save a lot of hassle

cheers

316a

ak_47_boy said:
... hell i don't even know where inputs and outputs are:(.

No disrespect intended but you need to get a grasp on reality. I have a degree in EE, and 25 years of experience, in a mix of tecnologies, and even though I can well understand the schematic and have built a few small valve designs, I wouldn't consider building this one - I'm working my way up through other, less risky, designs.

Apart from the physical risk to yourself and others, you will spend many 100s of dollars and end up with something that, if it doesn't catch fire first, will probably not work.