• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

opinions wanted - Lafayette Stereo 224 Tube Amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi. I also posted this over at audiokarma. I'm not sure why this is showing as my first post, I thought I had posted here a few times before.

I am a relative newbie to tubes. Recently I acquired a super-clean Layfayette Stereo 224 integrated tube amplifier. The build quality is very good. Tubes are 6gw8 's, 12ax7 's, and a 5ar4.

What can you guys tell me about it? Google was not my friend. Isaw a few things on this site, but not a whole lot. It's not the 224a or 224b, just the 224. Never seen one on ebay.

The bass, treble, and volume pots are all double pots (with a left and right knob on each one) which is quite annoying. Moreover, the volume pot is also the on/off switch. I'd like to bypass the tone controls and have one volume knob and a separate power switch. Thoughts?

Anyone have a schematic? What else would you guys recommend doing to get started?

Thanks. Picture links below.

http://home.neo.rr.com/bughead/lafayette2.jpg
http://home.neo.rr.com/bughead/lafayette3.jpg

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
I have had several Lafayette and Realistic stereo amplifiers and tuners of this vintage, you will need to replace those nice looking coupling caps in fairly short order unless the thing has been stored in a very dry environment for a long time.. They are paper in a nice aluminum can and get leaky very quickly once pressed back into use. (Damaging output tubes.) I have never had to replace one of those electrolytics yet, although that is not a bad idea either.

Nice find. :D

Kevin

i have almost the same amp