• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

grainy preamp gain

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi folks I need help and I may not find it here but I figure a tube forum would be the most likely place too find some tube educated people so here we go.....

I'm a guitarist looking to improve the tone of my amp, Its a mesa boogie DC-10. Has 4 russian 12ax7-A's, reverb driver is a 12ax7-lps, the phase inverter is a 12at7, and four harmonix 6L6's. In many ways I love the amp but for one problem. The lead channel has an incredible amount of distortion however it is a very undefined buzzy/ grainy type sound. I've looked into it quite a bit but it seems like the best bet I've come acrossed so far is to put a Low Pass filter some where in the preamp signal. I'm tryin to keep the high gain character but tighten/ focus the sound so its not so grainy in character. The lead channel has four stages of gain. I have the chassis out of the cabinet right now and have been mapping out the tone stack for the lead channel, however after playing with the treble, mid and bass capacitor values in a computer program it seems like this will not solve my problem. I have a fair amount of knowledge as far as circuitry goes and can find my way around but I'm not a wizz(I've re-wired an old stromberg intergrated tube p.a. into a guitar amp), Any suggestions would be really great. Again so far all I've found is to run a low pass filter from the end of the preamp chain to ground....but dont know what value to start with or which socket to run it off of ( the phase inverter or the last tube in the lead circuitry.
Your 2 cents would be much appreciated
Thanks,
Jake

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member