• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

First project, need guidance

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Disabled Account
Joined 2005
Several years ago I had a dream of building my own amplifier. After letting the dream subside for a while, I am finally ready to pursue it.

Of the past 48 hours, I believe I spent more than 30 reviewing this subject. Although I have learned a great deal I still believe I am a novice. I would like to build a system from the ground up. I've recently moved from my folks home into my own, giving me the perfect opportunity to pursue my dream.

With all the introduction aside my questions are as follows:
1. In order to obtain high-quality sound, what will my budget needs to be?
2. I prefer to build this by myself, not a kit. Are there any recommended schematics?
3. I enjoy listening to all kinds of music, from jazz to rock. Are there amplifiers that can handle such a wide range?
4. Would you recommend me building a simple, cheap amplifier first in order to gain some experience?

I would love to hear any advice. Feel free to ask questions that would help guide me to a decision. I hope you can help me from drowning in all this information.

Thanks,
Eitan Waks

Do you have any previous experience with electronics?
Do you understand what all the symbols mean on a schematic?
Do you have the basic tools to build from scratch?
Can you use basic equipment such as a multi meter and a soldering iron?

If you are new to diy electronics, it can take some time and expense to equip yourself with the tools to build an amplifier from scratch, and a little experience to source a problem if your circuit won't light up first time.