• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

On Line Tube Learning for newbies....

Konnichiwa,

As I am one of those to complain loudest when some questions show a lack of basics, how about a thread to collect on-line resources for "TOOBZ NOOBZ"?

I propose these for starters, as being sufficiently and as covering enough ground to allow one who understand basic electronics (8th grade physics really) to understand "TOOBZ"!

RCA Raditron Manual Version 10 from the 1930's, especially pages 5 - 25 in the pdf file....

Bonavolta - Tubes for Newbies

If anyone knows a good on-line resource on basic Electronics (RLC, Kirchoff, Ohm, lentz etc) please post, this could be included as prefix to the above for a "crash-course in electronics".

Sayonara

Being a tube newbie myself, I would greatly appreciate the posting of any and all links to beginners' resources. Rozenblitz's (sp?) book is just a little bit tough to get through for your average dumbass, like me.

I thought that while I was waiting for my Bottlehead Forplay and Paramours to arrive, I'd try to gain a reasonable understanding of what I was about to do.

Try this link for some (IMO) easier-to-understand articles. I'm reading these now and its the best stuff I've read so far.

Thanks and keep posting these, please!

Kofi

Reactions: 1 user
:cop:We seem to have the thumbs up for a sticky thread here :)

Since this is for newbie information it is important that the contributors ensure that the links they provide are both accurate and safe. It must be seen as the responsibility of the poster to ensure this.

:att'n:Users of this thread should pay particular attention to safety. Valve (Tube) equipment runs at hazardous voltages. Please look at this thread before going any further.:att'n: