• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Question regarding 5763 datasheet.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
[Resolved] Question regarding 5763 datasheet.

Hello all. I am relatively new to tube electronics, and designing a guitar amp using a 5763 tetrode in the output stage. On page 4 of the datasheet (available here) it says, regarding the screen voltage, that "The screen voltage, where lower than the anode voltage, should be obtained from a potentiometer across the HT line to chassis adequately by-passed to AF signals, and not by means of a series resistance." I understand the general idea here, and what should not be done, but am struggling to visualise how the potentiometer is arranged in the circuit. Is it asking for a voltage divider, like a volume pot, with a capacitor across it to allow AF signals through? Or am I totally off track? I'd very much appreciate the help of anyone willing to provide it, as I'm rather stumped. Thank you all in advance.

Last edited:
Welcome to the Tubes / Valves Threads of this Forum.
These are generally for Hi Fi Stereo tube amplifiers.

There are the Instruments & Amps Threads on this same Forum.
These are generally for Guitar amplifiers.
You might get some answers there too.

The 5763 data sheet you called out is suggesting a potentiometer to act as a Resistive Divider for the Screen, plus a bypass capacitor from the divider junction to ground.
The potentiometer seems to me that someone did not want to calculate the resistance of the series resistors needed from the B+ voltage and the desired screen voltage and screen current, to end up with a specific screen voltage.