Go Back   Home > Forums > >

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

First stereo tube amp build advice
First stereo tube amp build advice
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 12th November 2020, 10:04 PM   #1
Tom Kamphuys is offline Tom Kamphuys  Netherlands
diyAudio Member

Default First stereo tube amp build advice

Hello all, newbie here.

I am contemplating building my first stereo hifi tube amplifier. I've been reading up on (guitar) tube amplifiers, watched way too many youtube clips and have (succesfully) built two guitar amps (Marshall JTM45 and JCM800). Despite that I find it hard to get started in the hifi amp world and that is the reason for this post.

I've got lots of question, but I'll limit myself to a few. Here they are: What amp do you guys suggest I should build? Are there any informative build threads or sites? Any must read books, articles or websites? I've read both tube preamp book by Merlin Blencowe and the power amp book by Richard Kuehnel.

Any advice is welcome. Thanks in advance.
Old 12th November 2020, 10:08 PM   #2
rayma is offline rayma  United States
diyAudio Member

You'll need this. And no carbon comps. Audio amplifiers are very different from guitar amps,
since they are not supposed to add distortion or coloration.
http://hifisonix.com/wordpress/wp-co...ound-Loops.pdf

Last edited by rayma; 12th November 2020 at 10:19 PM.
Old 12th November 2020, 10:12 PM   #3
nigelwright7557 is offline nigelwright7557  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Guitar amps tend to not use global feedback so the sound is more rich.
Old 12th November 2020, 10:19 PM   #4
invaderzim is offline invaderzim  United States
diyAudio Member