Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Elekit TU-8200 with 87dB 8Ohm Speakers
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 15th September 2020, 07:14 PM   #1
houseelf is offline houseelf
diyAudio Member

Default Elekit TU-8200 with 87dB 8Ohm Speakers

Hi, I am a newbie, planning to build TU-8200 kit and use it with KEF R3 speakers.
Speakers are rated at 87dB sensitivity. Please help decide if I am overly optimistic hoping to drive R3 with 8W/C amp.
Old 15th September 2020, 08:48 PM   #2
Adolf Corkscrew is offline Adolf Corkscrew  Finland
diyAudio Member

Well, it all depends. On your room, how loud you like to listen, what kind of music, etc. I use a 2W tube amp in my desktop setup, but I have a pair of 91 dB/W/m loudspeakers that are listened from little more than an arms length. And that 2W is ample power there.

Given a small room and a small listening distance (ear from speaker) it might just be enough. And it might be much more than you thought. If hitting peaks of ~95dB with considerable distortion is enough for you, then it might just fly. And for surprisingly many listeners it does. For popular music, where there is little in the way of dynamics, it should be OK. For critical listening of classical music you might find yourself wanting.
Old 15th September 2020, 09:16 PM   #3
duncan2 is offline duncan2  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

KEF recommend a minimum of 15 Watts RMS for the R3.
Old 16th September 2020, 05:03 PM   #4
houseelf is offline houseelf
diyAudio Member