• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Power supply fault in preamp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Please help!

I have no experience with tubes and I'm stuck on a problem. I've had a preamp for a while by Assembelage L-1

There is no high voltage and I cant figure out what is going on. I have tested all resistors and caps and diodes. I bought a nice transistor tester from China that tell me my Mosfets are fine but it doesn't even get that far.

the problem is before the resistor marked 1M5 there is very high voltage but after is only 16v! Its not supposed to be that low. Please what is going on? I waited a week for the resistor only to find the same result!

Any help appreciated!

Attachments

• Assembly.jpg
    Assembly.jpg
    367.5 KB · Views: 270
Joined 2011
Have you tried removing just one fet at a time? Sure about fet pinouts?
Sure the fets' Zeners are in the right way? Is this loaded or unloaded?
The circuit before the 1.5M seems to be operating ok.

It would appear that something after the 1.5M is the problem.
Are the fet heat sinks grounded? Is there measured high impedance
isolation from the fet sink to the drain?

Last edited:
Tested voltages without Mosfets? Also check without the GS zenners, A digital multimeter will sag a bit the voltage because its internal impedance, but not so low as your readings, that 1.5M resistor is in the high side, a 100-200k would do in that spot, also the 2.2uF capacitors could be leaking. The 1.5M should cause the supply to make a HT delay ramp of almost 4 seconds to full zenner stack voltage supposing the other components are good.

Joined 2011
Q200 is 2sa1142