• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Push-pull SIT amplifier

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
This is going to be my first thread on DIYAudio in ten years of being almost a daily reader. Better late than never!

My last project completes the 'family' of home amplification projects built with Static Induction Transistors: single-ended and push-pull amplifier and phono amplifier. These are mostly Soviet times devices and they are still more or less available on ebay. My background is from that part of the world so I also got options of buying from local vendors. Phono amplifier also uses Japanese SITs.

My passion in DIY audio is also transformer signalling and I also had a few chances to prove its advantages in industrial hardware design.

I have to say that I am not big fan of NFB and the push-pull amplifier is the only one which employs NFB. My excuse is it has been chosen so based on listening tests and therefore it is objective. At least for me :), obviously.

So, the push-pull amplifier is called Mriya PP. Before the schematics of the amplifier got finalized, there were a few months of listening to a prototype so almost all of the decisions on components and values have been driven by listening experience. Not just mine - my wife has a perfect ear for music and with time I learned (painfully) that my engineering reasoning is not always the way things should be.... Now she also states that Mriya PP sounds above everything else I made before and that includes some decent designs like the SV811 SE amplifier, for example.