• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Loud Buzz

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I've been prototyping a headphone amp for the past several months and have gone through close to a dozen iterations at this point. I think I have settled on a design now, but am having some problems with buzzing. The power supply is just a bridge rectifier with a basic Pi-Filter arrangement. Two 100uF caps separated by an inductor or resistor. Earth ground tied to DC ground. If my scope ground is plugged in to the amp power supply ground then it's all good. Nice and quiet. As soon as I pull that scope ground off of the breadboard though I get a very loud hum/buzz. Where the scope ground is plugged in doesn't matter, and plugging in a direct link to earth ground does nothing. Any ideas what I'm doing wrong here? I'm at a bit of an impasse.

You have a ground loop in the amplifier, or some other problem.
Is the hum present in your headphones when:
The input is shorted?
The input is open?
A signal source is connected, i.e. CD player?
Each of the above with and without the scope connected?

What headphones?
How many Ohms?
What sensitivity?

Headphones are so sensitive. They are 1 inch off of the ear, essentially no sound attenuation.
Speakers 3 feet away (36 inches) are attenuated by 36 x 36 = 1/1296 (-62dB).
Getting hum low on a headphone amp is not trivial (as you have found out).

A complete schematic is always helpful to doing troubleshooting, please post it.
Troubleshooting without a schematic is like being blindfolded and trying to shoot an arrow at the target.

If your amplifier will not become a commercial product, you have nothing to protect,