Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Any very good sounding tube headphone amp ideas ?
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 21st October 2019, 09:43 PM   #1
Vortex is offline Vortex  Hungary
diyAudio Member

Send a message via ICQ to Vortex Any very good sounding tube headphone amp ideas ?
Default Any very good sounding tube headphone amp ideas ?

Dear all, I'd like to build my very first tube headphone amp.
Any ideas, a simple schematics maybe ? I'm not an electrician but I can solder and had some little projects already, all with success.

My headphone's parameters:
Max. power rating: 0.05W (50mW)
Max. voltage: 1.2Vrms (3.3Vpp)
Max. current: 43mA
Max. S.P.L.: 113dB
Impedance: 28 Ω
Efficiency: 96 dB/1mW (111dB/1V)

In the future I'd like to be able to drive some more serious headphones with it too, like Sennheiser's HD800S, which seems to be a very different animal (300 Ohms if I'm correct).

I prefer JJ tubes, we have easy access to them in Europe, but actually any brand might be okay as well.

Many many thanks
Old 21st October 2019, 10:06 PM   #2
kodabmx is offline kodabmx  Canada
Spreading triode love.
diyAudio Member

I use this. It will swing 42mA. 28R is close enough to 32R that this circuit will drive it. Bonus: No OPT!

The tubes aren't JJ, but you can use ECC99 instead of 6N6P... 6N6P is cheaper though
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Aikido-6N5P6N6P-32-ohm-Headphone.-1.svg.jpg (501.2 KB, 669 views)
Old 21st October 2019, 10:55 PM   #3
JeffYoung is offline JeffYoung  Ireland
diyAudio Member