Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

What is this? 7199/6V6GTA/6V6GTA/5Y3GT
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 1st August 2019, 03:26 PM   #1
73 and a 3rd is offline 73 and a 3rd  United States
diyAudio Member

Default What is this? 7199/6V6GTA/6V6GTA/5Y3GT

Hello,
I am pretty much a newb when it comes to a lot of this stuff so I am looking for a little help from this community. I have built some simple amps like a tripath 2024 and an Nelson Pass ACA as well as some guitar pedal kits so I kinda can understand what is going on in there but I am self taught and pretty new in this journey so it is at a high level.

I recently found a sweet score at a yard sale. It is a small stereo tube amp that was hand built as an audio amplifier to provide sound for a real to real movie projector, (from what i was told). I was in too much of an excited state to ask if there was any other components before I left so it is the only piece I have.

I got her home and opened it up and was very happy to see the guts. Point to point wired with what looks to be quality components. not to mention the tubes are all RCA's, (grey plates?). I am hoping to learn more about this amplifier and either utilize it as an audio amp in my home, or make a couple of guitar amps out of it.

I am looking for help identifying the kit or design/schematic of this amp to learn more about it, decide what it would best be used for, and best steps to get it running. I have started to document the parts/configuration and am going to try and draw out the schematic on paper to help with the learning process.