• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

What is this? 7199/6V6GTA/6V6GTA/5Y3GT

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello,
I am pretty much a newb when it comes to a lot of this stuff so I am looking for a little help from this community. I have built some simple amps like a tripath 2024 and an Nelson Pass ACA as well as some guitar pedal kits so I kinda can understand what is going on in there but I am self taught and pretty new in this journey so it is at a high level.

I recently found a sweet score at a yard sale. It is a small stereo tube amp that was hand built as an audio amplifier to provide sound for a real to real movie projector, (from what i was told). I was in too much of an excited state to ask if there was any other components before I left so it is the only piece I have.

I got her home and opened it up and was very happy to see the guts. Point to point wired with what looks to be quality components. not to mention the tubes are all RCA's, (grey plates?). I am hoping to learn more about this amplifier and either utilize it as an audio amp in my home, or make a couple of guitar amps out of it.

I am looking for help identifying the kit or design/schematic of this amp to learn more about it, decide what it would best be used for, and best steps to get it running. I have started to document the parts/configuration and am going to try and draw out the schematic on paper to help with the learning process.

For now this is what I have.
Each channel has:

1 x 5Y3GT rectifier tube
1 x 7199 preamp/phase splitter?
2 x 6V6GTA power tubes
Individual input and output transformers, (will post info on these soon.)

Amplifier has:

No power switch, no volume/tones controls.