• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Problem simulating SE 300B tube amplifier

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello, would like to build this 300B SE tube amplifier. The circuit is said to work fine, taken from a serious book, but first I would like to run a simulation on LTspice. Uploaded the LTspice project along with the tube models, output transformer model .SUBCKT and .asy symbol.

The simulation runs with apparently no errors, but I can see that the first stage has not enough gain and finally there is a very small signal over the output transformer output primary and secondary.

Some notes about the proposed simulation:

1. I am not a simulation expert, and I manage to run analog simulations regularly, but I am a newbie to tube simulations. Yes I have experience in electronics and built a couple of simple tube amplifiers.

2. the tube models used are taken from Mr. Ayumi Nakabayashi's model collection, and I have used them without problems, except for these 3 tubes that are here for the first time. I have edited Mr. Ayumi Nakabayashi's models to work fine with LTspice, in which the '^' operator has been replaced by "**" in al expressions. This was originally designed for TINA simulator, but after this syntax correction it works fine now for LTspice.

3. I managed to implement an output transformer using the model I found here: Dmitry Nizhegorodov . Correction of the original different parameters has been done to match the values of the Lundahl model LL1623 transformer.

4. I included a 100 MOhm R20. Without it LTspice complains about an open node. I also did with R19 that references the output transformer secondary to ground.