• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Built my first 300B amp - have lots of questions!

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Newbie here. I just put together my first 300B amp. Very excited that it turns on and makes sound instead of smoke! The satisfaction of building something that allows me to sit down an enjoy music is undescribably awesome!

As for the sound, it is quite good, i think (or is it just the "face only a mother could love" syndrome?) there are some things that it does well, like the mid and the warmth, detail and realism is very good and SETy. However, I also noticed it is a bit shouty on the high, sometimes to the point of piercing. The bass is quite loose, there is bass, but not well defined.

Is there something I have done wrong? I didn't use a specific schematic, but instead put together bits and pieces from all the info I found here and elsewhere.

Here are things I am not sure if i did correctly.

435V B+ comes from an outboard power supply that I scavenge from another amp. It is 5u4g rectified + CLC with 33uF / 5H / 1000+uF. That need an umbilical cord so I added a 22uF Obbligato oil cap on the amp chassis. I cannot change the power transformer (~735VCT) so 430V is all I can get. That seems a bit low as the 300B cathode is at 65V so I only ended up with 370V plate. Is that low? I am still struggling to understand how to calculate the output power but I do get slightly more than 9V swing at the output.

The 6C45P bias point is a bit hot but to get the amount of swing to drive the 300B I decided to push it a little. I read that 160V peak to peak is recommended. But then, with only 65V bias voltage, am I driving it to A2? Is 65V bias for 300B too low?