Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

SEP using 6P30B and 5744WB/6C7B
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 11th February 2019, 05:05 PM   #1
mondogenerator is offline mondogenerator  England
diyAudio Member

Default SEP using 6P30B and 5744WB/6S7B-V

Hi,

To start off I should state that this is my first attempt to design and build anything using vacuum tubes, and I have much to glean from the books I've bought.

I searched here and on the interweb in general and there isn't a huge amount of info regarding the 6P30B tube, a couple of threads here, a few of Wavebourn designs/you tube videos.

So, I've skipped forwards a couple of steps....

Being a first attempt at tube circuit design, I built a simple voltage amplifier, fully bypassed Rk, drew the loadlines for 150k Rload and Va of 2/3rds B+.

In testing using 6C7B or 5744WB (mu~ 70), all is well and I see OLG approaching 2/3rds Mu.

Great!

Last edited by mondogenerator; 27th February 2019 at 08:08 AM. Reason: Wrong PN of devices used
Old 11th February 2019, 05:50 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Default A power stage

Then, after reading around an awful lot, and going over the information again and again I found that TheGimp made a very helpful point in post #4 here:
Anyone have experience with transformers for a 6p30b-r PP Amp?

So I started to try an build a pentode power stage, using the data points mentioned, and I varied Vg2, Va, and Ik to arrive at something that just about stays within datasheet limits (I.e. for max watts)

I figured I should be able to make 25% efficiency, so perhaps1 Watt output, perhaps a shade more.