• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Any good flea-watt SET designs?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Dear Tube Freaks;

I have never built an tube amp before, ever. I have basic electronics knowledge and understanding. No more, no less. I am looking for a easy-to-build, moderate cost, single ended triode that would be suitable for a first-time DIY-tube project.

• Power is not an issue, a single watt is more than sufficient.
  • Lower end extension (say below 200Hz) is of less importance.
  • My preferred tubes would be the 45 or the 10Y, although I am open for suggestions.

Any experienced suggestions on a well documented project that could suit me?

We have decided to update the original circuit to incorporate the C4S active load on the driver stage. This will significantly decrease noise and hum levels and increase the linearity of the driver stage. The previous version of the kits averaged about 20-30mV RMS hum with Valve Art 2A3s. With the C4S installed the hum level is reduced by approximately a factor of ten, to about 2mV RMS. Subjectively the C4S will also improve the transient speed and image localization of the amps. The change is not subtle and we feel that our customers will find the improvement significant.

I believe the distortion comment is no longer true :)

Rocky,

The fly in the ointment is the fact that the PM's power trafo is strictly 120 VAC. Have Bottlehead confirm that 50 Hz. power is OK. You will have to acquire a step down autotransformer for the monoblock pair. Bottlehead carries "230" VAC power trafos, but they are fairly costly.