• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

5842 or EC8010 with OPT!

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello,
i just wanna build a preamp like the Euridice: 5842 with preamp opt. Now my questions: Has anyone build this? How does it sound? Which opt should i buy? I thing it will work with the Lundahl LL1660 gapped for 30mA. Are there other alternatives?
Thanx a lot & Greetings from Hamburg

Hauke

Hi Hauke,

I have no experience with the Euridice, but with transformer coupled preamps.

I personally think a tube like the EC8010 or 5842 are no good choices for a linestage, unless your sources have very low levels
and you need the amplification of these tubes.

Even with a step down transformer you will have something like
20 dB gain. Quite hefty for a linestage! That means you will have
to throw away a big part of the signal with the volume pot, which usually compromises sound.

If you want to get the maximum benefit from a transformercoupled linstage with low Zout, you need to place a low impedance volume control (i.e. 600) at the output.

But then you will have the problem of overload at the tubes' grids.
typical line output level of a CD player is 2V RMS, which is close to
6V pk-pk. These tubes are usually biased around 2-3V, which
would be barely enough and mean that you overload them permanently. Even if you stress it and run them at 4V bias and low current you have a mere 3dB of headroom and the tubes opwerate in a fairly non linear region.

My sugestions:

Use a tube which runs at higher (preferably much higher) grid bias. I.e. 27, 56, 76, 6J5, 6SN7 or better yet a directly heated
tube like 26 or 10/801 (my favorite)