• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Distorting 6L6 amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi All,

I'm a newbie. Last night I completed the build of my first amplifier, a 6V6/6L6 SE monoblock - this is a project from the book "Tube Amplifier Basics". I turned on the amp (was using 6L6), was listening to music, but the amp was clipping on low volumes (at least I thought the volume was low for 8W). At some point I wanted to hear the distortion more clearly and I increased the signal level pretty high. The volume died down in about 3 seconds and then the fuse was blown (actually it's a 1A circuit breaker). I tried to turn it on multiple times after it cooled down but the circuit breaker trips after about 5 seconds every time (the filament supply LED is lit during this short period of time).

For troubleshooting, I removed the 2 diodes in the power supply, and they are OK. I also detached the power transformer secondary to measure voltages, but I can't because the circuit breaker trips before I could measure anything (although the filament wires are still connected without tubes).

Is my transformer shorted? I'm assuming it's safe for the transformer to power the primary, leave the secondary open and measure voltages that way?

I did not get a chance to measure any voltage while the amp was working more or less correctly, so I'm aware I'm not giving out a lot of info here, but could you guys throw some ideas at me as to what could have gone wrong?

Thanks a million,

Peter