Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Another Newbie Who Bought a Cheap Chinese Tube Amp Kit
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 28th November 2018, 04:41 PM   #1
Lotus78 is offline Lotus78
diyAudio Member

Default Another Newbie Who Bought a Cheap Chinese Tube Amp Kit

I purchased one of those cheap Chinese tube amp kits. I did some due diligence (ie google) but not much came up. So, I figured I would give it a whirl for $140 with free shipping.

I have very little knowledge about circuits and what the various parts do. I learned which end of a soldering iron to hold just a few months ago and managed to put together the crossovers in the Parts Express Overnight Sensations

I purchased this one: 6N1+6P3P Amplifier HiFi Class A Tube Audio Vacuum Power Amp DIY Single Ended Kit | eBay

I was expecting step by step instructions but what I got is one piece of paper with a schematic and some text. In Chinese. Instead of packing it backup and sending it back I made the second mistake of going ahead and trying to build the thing. After all it is only $140. My new mantra.

The endless research done to figure out were to start led me here where I found out

A. I should have never purchased this amp because it does not come with instructions.
B. It is a poorly designed amp.

I assembled everything easily, did a quick tutorial on reading schematic and researched output transformers. The output transformers seemed easy enough so researched power transformers a little more daunting but in the end not too bad.