• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Another Newbie Who Bought a Cheap Chinese Tube Amp Kit

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I purchased one of those cheap Chinese tube amp kits. I did some due diligence (ie google) but not much came up. So, I figured I would give it a whirl for $140 with free shipping.

I have very little knowledge about circuits and what the various parts do. I learned which end of a soldering iron to hold just a few months ago and managed to put together the crossovers in the Parts Express Overnight Sensations

I purchased this one: 6N1+6P3P Amplifier HiFi Class A Tube Audio Vacuum Power Amp DIY Single Ended Kit | eBay

I was expecting step by step instructions but what I got is one piece of paper with a schematic and some text. In Chinese. Instead of packing it backup and sending it back I made the second mistake of going ahead and trying to build the thing. After all it is only $140. My new mantra.

The endless research done to figure out were to start led me here where I found out

A. I should have never purchased this amp because it does not come with instructions.
B. It is a poorly designed amp.

I assembled everything easily, did a quick tutorial on reading schematic and researched output transformers. The output transformers seemed easy enough so researched power transformers a little more daunting but in the end not too bad.

But, to me those where the easy parts. Everything in between looks much more difficult and the chances of me not making a mistake somewhere is slim to none. That is if I not already have not made a mistake. So, after all my long windedness. My question is what should I do next? (It is a multiple-choice question)