• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Looking for guidance to bring an amp back to life

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi everyone

I am looking for help in bringing a tube amp I bought in flea market back to life. It was part of a turntable console by a company called "Symphonic". I dismantled carefully and brought the turntable and the amp in. I am a fairly newbie to valve electronics - have some experience with microcontrollers, simple discrete circuits like rectifier bridges, h bridges for controlling dc motors etc. I guess none of my pitifully small knowledge will help me here with the grownup world of valves.

I am hoping to bring it back to life, took lots of pictures so I know where things should go just in case. I understand that all the electrolytic caps must go! I have been looking at the circuit underneath and can't figure out what capacitors to order. I am assuming I need to change to Can capacitor too that is on the top of the circuit.

Also, once I put the new caps in, is it ok to power it on or should I use a current limiter as described by "uncle doug" on youtube? I have a simple multimeter. I don't have a variac. I have a reasonable soldering equipment. I will put some pictures. Is there anyone who is willing to kindly handhold and guide me through this process?

Main power transformer has "TR180", 831022 on it. It has one EZ81/6030, two of EL84/6BQ5/6035, one of ECC83/6030.

Sorry about haphazard info and lots of questions. Thanks in advance.

Attachments

• s-IMG_20181117_162119064.jpg
    s-IMG_20181117_162119064.jpg
    326.1 KB · Views: 431
  • s-IMG_20181117_200640220.jpg
    s-IMG_20181117_200640220.jpg
    338.7 KB · Views: 423