• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

NFB question

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi! Just a question on the NFB. In my first build using feedback the efective bandwith had increased Now i am working on another prototype amp an SE with EL34 which seems to be working fine on the bench .Howewer testing with feedback seems that on this one the bandwith tend to decrease whe i aply feedback. Is that possible? Be pacient i am a beginner...

Tks

Hi,
No the bandwidth can not decrease with increasing NFB, as long as the feedback is negative the bandwidth will always increase. If you have decreasing bandwidth the feedback must be positive. I will give a simple explanation:

The bandwidth is the frequency where the gain starts to drop. What we do with NFB is to decrease the gain so the drop point move to a higher frequency. Se the attached picture.

The product of Gain x Bandwidth always stays the about same for an amplifier, we use NFB to lower the gain, the gain decreases from (in the picture) 200 to 50. Since Gain x Bandwidth is constant, the bandwidth has to increase when we lower the gain by using NFB.

In the picture the gain without feedback was 200 and the bandwidth 10 k. 200 x 10k = 2000k.
We lower the gain to 50 by using NFB, then the bandwidth must increase to 40k, since GxBw is constant at 2000k (50x40=2000)

(the picture is just to illustrate what happens, and not from any real amp)

Attachments

• GBW.jpg
    GBW.jpg
    16.5 KB · Views: 183
Last edited:
Thanks. I knew it could not be right.