• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Help with voltages on a JE Labs 2A3 SE amp?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I've been building the JE Labs 2A3 SE amp. I have a test circuit complete on breadboards and my voltages aren't quite right.

You can see in the photos what the voltages should be in the square blocks, ignore the voltages I have beside them. I've gone over everything over and over. My resistances are all correct. I've tested the tubes again. Not sure what to do. I know slight changes in the bias can have a lot of affect. Also, this is my first build.

Should I adjust the resistance to get the correct voltage? I'm not sure how it would affect my plate loads and load lines.

Also, when you have direct coupling like this, how would the load lines be done for the second stage. The grid would be 70v , and the plate is at 210v. It's bias is 76v. Would you go by the -6v for your load line. Would the plate be 210v - 76v = 134v. I'm just not sure how that works when direct coupled.

I didn't show in the schematic. The bias voltage on the first stage should be 1.5v , and the second 76v.

Any help is appreciate , Kennyg

Attachments

• 20181002_150454.jpg
    20181002_150454.jpg
    280.3 KB · Views: 215
  • 20181002_150630.jpg
    20181002_150630.jpg
    424.6 KB · Views: 248
Last edited:
Joined 2011
I've been building the JE Labs 2A3 SE amp. I have a test circuit complete on breadboards and my voltages aren't quite right.

Should I adjust the resistance to get the correct voltage?

The grid would be 70v , and the plate is at 210v. It's bias is 76v. Would you go by the -6v for your load line. Would the plate be 210v - 76v = 134v.