• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

New at this - need some advice/recommendations

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am an engineer, ok with PCB design, low/high voltages, soldering,... you name it. Anyways, I only had a handful of solid state amplifiers over the last 20 years, blew them up, fixed them, built speakers, blew speakers, rebuilt speaker coils,... I always wanted a good sound system, and learned a few things from my experiences, but I did not have the occasion to test/listen a tube amplifier yet. Please take a look below, and don't feel offended, I am just asking some questions that come to my mind, in order to be able to figure out which way to go.

At this point, I would buy a new tube amplifier, or make one, but there are a few things that I am taking into consideration, as:
- price - is a good quality new price higher than building one from parts/kit?
- Amazon has some options for new - are they good? any decent options?
- what power do I need to drive nicely one Visaton BG20-8 per channel (40W nominal, 70W max), and maybe later a 12 inch Fane Sovereign per channel?
- is it worth going for tubes instead of solid state?
- tube pre-amp with solid state amp... would that return some nice results?
- what could I build (power/quality) for $200? $300? $400?... total component cost - can I get something decent?
- I looked on craiglist in my area, but I am not an expert and cannot judge if the available amps are good or not
- stay with a solid state for now, move to tubes later?

I know there are many options out there, what would you do?

Joined 2011
what could I build (power/quality) for $200? $300? $400?... total component cost -