• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

6n7gt+300b

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi!
I am not an expert in DIY, but have just modified a DIY amp to use 6N7GT(RCA/GEC) as input/driver and 300B(WE/GDmp) as ouput.
The amp itself are pretty heavy with a big outbord power supply.
Since I do not have a lot of knowledge on this subject I wondered if anyone could help me a little choosing the right voltages (and cap/resistors to get this).
I do have 100db+ speakers so I do not nead high gain.
Here are the schematic.
An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

diyAudio Senior Member
Joined 2002
Hi,

You really have some odd values for the PS caps there....

91K Rin? Why not 100K and a 1K gridstopper iso 91K and 100R.

If you MUST use a 6SN7 in // then at least use separate cathode Rs for better current sharing between both sections of the valve.
So, 2 * 1K3 individually bypassed.

Why two 5U4s in /// A single one should do if the powerxformer can supply the voltage you need.

Cheers,;)

6N7 != 6SN7 :p

Plate voltage on the driver needs to be *much* lower. Closer to 120-150V. Decrease Rk or increase Rp...whatever keeps it in the linear range.

6N7 isn't really good for anything IMO because it has such low pervenace. 6SN7 is much better for a driver and probably more common. Given how much gain you need for this I'd suggest something resembling a 6DJ8. Maybe a 6SL7, although some people complain about slew rate or some crap like that. :rolleyes: 6DJ8 really is perfect because it has the current capacity, but I can't think of anything octal that resembles it.

Tim