• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Restoration of 60's Viking RCS-506 tuner/amp for CF Eaton

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi from PEI,
First post, even though I have been a member for quite a while ...
I am an old retired engineer who last built stereo (valve) amps as a young BBC engineer in the early 60's. We have a CF Eaton stereo console from ca. 1963 with Viking RCS-506, and a Collaro auto change record player..
The cabinet has been restored and revarnished, and the Viking is in good shape. The cabinet has always been indoors, and there is no rust on the chassis, and the face plate is almost unmarked.
AM/FM Tuner mounted on main chassis, and amp has 5U4BG, 7025A and 6BQ5 output tubes in SE mode, but it has not seen power for over 10 years...
I have my light bulb tester ready, but have not applied any power yet. Transformer checks using DVM to look at resistance values show at least the same resistance values on secondaries either side of the center tap in the power transformer.. Long way to go yet...
To cut a long story short, my view is, that restoration means just that... Replace any component which is Kaput, or 'suspicious', recap electrolytics, paper caps. Clean and polish, check resistors, transformers, tubes, check voltages when power can safely be applied.
If I replace chunks of the circuit with a new design, then I feel that am not performing restoration, and I might as well completely gut the chassis, and use it as the home for a completely new amp...