Go Back   Home > Forums > >

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Audion Edison 60 building and using report
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 3rd August 2017, 12:14 PM   #1
fb2017 is offline fb2017
diyAudio Member

Default Audion Edison 60 building and using report

I finally defeated my laziness and decided to write a short Audion Edison 60 building report:
Edison 60 prices and options

I have got all the available options (incl. tantalum and foil capacitors), but not the silver wire. The variant built here is the Edison 60 plus dual monoblock 30W push-pull Class A amp, with the Silver Night output transformers. As a short background, I am an Electrical/Software engineer, with limited background in High Voltage (think >30.000V) applications, and significant experience in low voltage (48-1200V) region.

The kit was delivered excellently packed, in just a few days after placing the order. I found it impressive that the output trafos were wound and baked after the order was placed. This configuration, as seen in the pictures did require some careful planning and hole drilling, in order to allow a symmetrical transformer arrangement.
Although this was not my first build, it took me a significant number of days to finish it. I do take a lot of pleasure in working slowly and to perfection, while anticipating the final result. The kit does offer a lot of satisfaction from this point of view.

As seen in the pictures, the "Plus" kit comes with two power supply toroids+boards. The amp itself is a hybrid between point-to-point and board soldered constructions. The soldering itself is not particularly challenging, with parts this size.