• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

GM70 SE direct coupled sanity check 1st design

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
I'll second Pieter on this, and also remark that I have a lot of experience with the GM70. This is not a first timer tube.

To sing they need 1kV - 1.2kV at in excess of 100mA - not trivial to safely and reliably get these voltages, for example I use stacked electrolytics in some of my designs when there is not room for film. They lived 5 years even with all of the reasonable precautions I took to assure that the voltage distributed evenly across the 3 x 220uF/450V caps with voltage equalization resistors I used. It didn't work. The replacements won't last any longer and will soon be replaced with 70uF/1300V film caps from Clarity.

For full power they need 200Vpp minimum and if you entertain thoughts of > 15W output some A2 capability is needed in the driver. They demand lots of grid current.

Pieter and a few others can make output transformers that will survive long term at these voltage, many transformers will fail over time due to the high voltage (both AC and DC) present on the primary winding.

I would use RC or LC coupling or my preference IT drive - in the event of a driver failure (it happens!) a catastrophic chain of events will not be initiated resulting in destruction of GM70, output transformer, and HV supply.

3A of clean low noise 20V for the filaments is not easily achieved, but at least Rod Coleman has provided a solution with his filament CCS.