• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Eico HF-81 with Pre Out?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm a newbie restoring my first amp, and it happens to be an EICO HF81.

As you know, the "Tape Out" section is basically a "Line Out" without any volume control or any of that sweet treble/bass tone control. I have zero use for a Tape Out, and I'm guessing *most* people don't use a Tape Out anymore.

I've always wondered how to go about tapping the circuit where I could effectively make a "Pre Out" instead- one that maintains the active tone stack and volume control functionalities.

Has anyone done this with an Eico HF81?

I'm a newbie restoring my first amp, and it happens to be an EICO HF81.

As you know, the "Tape Out" section is basically a "Line Out" without any volume control or any of that sweet treble/bass tone control. I have zero use for a Tape Out, and I'm guessing *most* people don't use a Tape Out anymore.

I've always wondered how to go about tapping the circuit where I could effectively make a "Pre Out" instead- one that maintains the active tone stack and volume control functionalities.

Has anyone done this with an Eico HF81?

Did you actually try it out? The schematic shows the tape out jacks as being wired after the volume and tone controls. In fact, they're in parallel with the input to the power amp section.

Yes, the schematic (uploaded) shows preamp out, not proper recording, jacks.