• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

01A question

I've been building amps & other electronics for more than 70 yrs. But never my day job. I will be 86 in a couple of wks. But other than failures for one reason or another I've never experienced any serious problems with the linear components, Ls, Cs & Rs.

Congratulations on 70yrs in electronics!
I know most of us would like to upload your wealth of knowledge.

Yes, of course - 560K. thanks for pointing that out.

Well, I've been neglecting the 26 for a while because I couldn't get it to sound as good as the other DHTs I was using, but this incarnation is impressive. I'd be interested in some feedback from anyone else that can build it.

Hi Andy, Have you reached a definitive conclusion on the sound of diode bias? I'm putting together a 26 pre (doing power supply at the moment). I have 30 diodes and a few types of resistors on hand. I'm considering trying both with the ability switch between the two (powered down of course). I have a set of Ale's gyrator boards stuffed and Ron's raw plus filament boards ready to go.

Best Regards,
Mark

Recently I've been experimenting with the old telecom German DHTs: Aa and Ba. These are lovely beauties but somehow challenging to implement effectively due to their hum succeptibility and very low anode current and high anode resistance. In this case, the hybrid mu-topology plus an output source follower proves to be ideal combination. Distortion is extremely low as well as flat frequency response up to 100kHz.

More importantly, the sound is great. Both have the detail and clarity I look for on these DHTs. The instrument timbre is there as well as the dynamics.