• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Extremely low power first amp problem

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello!
Firstly appologies, this is a question about a <gasp> hybrid amp not an all tube amp. I'm just starting out learning tube amps so I figured if I vaguely new what I was doing with half the circuit...

Anyhows, I'm trying to build an extremely low power Single ended EL84 amp to get a bit of soft distortion for guitar. I've recovered the output transformer and the tube and tube socket off someones homebrew amp that went wrong, and have based my circuit on the LXH2 extremely low power tube amp http://home3.netcarrier.com/~lxh2/lowpsch.html Except I've had to convert it to single ended without knowing what I'm doing. I kind of borrowed some bits of the Vox AC4 power stage to help me out, and have ended up with an amp that sounds like it getting some nice power tube distortion, but with a horrible fuzz as well.
I've done some tests and found the horrible fuzz is on pin 2 of the el84 and can't trace it any further. The schematic follows, tube heaters are being run of 6VAC transformer, power for B+ and Op-Amps is supplied by a regulated and smoothed +/-12V 50VA transformer.
http://www.bath.ac.uk/~ee1pa/LowPower1.txt (tube pins are put in brackets, and various voltages I thought might be useful are put in)

Sorry about the newbie question, but I'm stumped, and can't find any circuits that are this low power on the net to compare with.

I think pin 2 for a 6bq5 (el 84) is the grid or input signal pin. So, if that is where the fuzz is coming in it looks like you need to go up to the chips.