• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

zenith console amplifier (a stereo mono amplifier :) )

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have been rehabilitating an old (1959) Zenith console, SFD288. To date I have replaced the capacitors in the amplifier and preamplifier/tuner, as well as resistors that had drifted well out of specification, using the following Sam's photofacts as my guide:

https://app.box.com/s/jnjt1ahxrap1nqb9nx00

I am an electronics newbie, but I can follow a schematic (given enough time :) ), am handy with a soldering iron, and have built a few components (Foreplay preamp, several headphone amplifiers) and speakers over the years. I fell in love with the Zenith and I'm going to bring this fantastic old MCM console back to life (with a few updates here and there, most likely).

The amplifier seems to be functioning properly, and is surprisingly quiet (the tuner is another matter, currently hunting down a hum in one channel).

However, its design is a bit of a puzzle. If you look at the schematic attached, you'll notice that while it has a 2 channel PP topography, with ECC83 drivers and EL84s, the output transformers are "tied" together (note the "yellow" and "white" wires connecting the two). As a result, input from either channel is sent to both speakers. I'm a little flummoxed about why anyone would design a circuit this way... There are probably folks who recognize it instantly (and the intentions behind the design). The taps on the transformer with three windings feed both the L and R main channels as well as additional speakers that could be purchased (surround sound :D ).