Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Tubes / Valves All about our sweet vacuum tubes :) Threads about Musical Instrument Amps of all kinds should be in the Instruments & Amps forum

Building the Damn Good 300B
Building the Damn Good 300B
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 26th January 2015, 12:52 AM   #1
Bill3331 is offline Bill3331
diyAudio Member

Default Building the Damn Good 300B

Hi Everyone,

I'm starting a thread on my build of Tom Christiansen's Damn Good 300B (DG300B). I've built amplifiers from kits before, but this is my first time building anything from circuit boards and a bill of materials. So there may be some learning curve.

My reason for building a 300B is that I'm looking for more intense tonal color than what I'm able to get from my other amplifiers. I'm hoping to end up with some of that 300B midrange magic. I did shop around quite a bit before I settled on Tom's design. There are a few reasons for going with this amp: it's well reviewed by the people who have built it, the cost of entry is low, and I'm not paying for parts I don't need. (cough *chassis* cough). I'm on a shoestring budget, so being able to get started with the circuit boards, then order the parts piecemeal, and pick up the big ticket items like the transformers and tubes a few months down the road is a big help.