• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Marry tube preamplifier with 2-Band Wien bridge equalizer

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Joined 2011
Paid Member
Hi,

I am new to sound equipment, so I figured I should ask advice from more experienced people.

My project is to upgrade my old Sony TA-242 amplifier to have tubes in the input stage. The amp has Low and High Tone regulators and I want to utilize them for tube pre-amp as well. I am aware that EQ will not fix all the sound related problems like room acoustics, speaker quality, source/DAC quality, incorrect studio recording, etc. I think it will still be a neat feature to have in my amp.

Looking at professional equipment, I found that Makie mixers use what they call Perkins EQ, which is based on Wien Bridge Equalizer according to this forum: Mackie "Perkins EQ" - the schematic.

I then did little research and found this schematics:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/wbo4mt3p4coieoh/eq7.gif?dl=0
eq7_zps7c592dc0.gif

It allows +-9dB on 100Hz and 8kHz.
I might increase 8kHz to 10kHz which is pretty much standard for audio EQ. I kind of wondering what frequencies will be the best to use for EQ??? Makie mixers have 80Hz and 12kHz as Lo and High respectively...

For preamp, I was looking at Marshall preamp schematics:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/31job8j0sjcxvil/1266951502_lampovyj-predvaritelnyj-usilitel-firmy-marshall.jpg?dl=0
1266951502_lampovyj-predvaritelnyj-usilitel-firmy-marshall_zpsd67789bc.jpg

with modification of the cathode repeater like this:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/5c3kx8s1xp8gnvd/temp.PNG?dl=0
temp_zpseb4be0a5.png