• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Getting started with tube preamps

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello folks,

I want to make a preamp using tubes. I have no idea where to start though. Should I buy one of those really old radios and take the tubes/transformer from those, or should I buy all components one-by-one?

I have plenty of electronics experience, but the field of tubes is very new to me. I was first going to make a complete amp with tubes but I think I'm going to keep it solid state for now - let's first get a preamp running. ;)

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,
-- Charl

frugal-phile™
Joined 2001
Paid Member
From recent threads on the same subject, a single 12B4 per channel is a good way to go... most of the work is in the power supply, which for a really good pre should be regulated -- i'd use a choke loaded supply running into a Vacuum State SuperReg (a shunt reg kit).

IIRC Gary Pimm (check for some of Brett's posts) has a good site on building regulators.

There is also a thread "Frank's Ultimate Pre" that has another take on the subject.

dave

Hey,

Thanks for referring me to that post. It does have a lot of schematics though, so again I wouldn't know which one to (try) to start building. ;)

Also, it would be nice if my preamp would have some gain, maybe 2.

Perhaps I should just look for some tubes, buy them, then build something based on that instead of trying to build something based on a certain schematic?

-- Charl

Ex-Moderator
Joined 2003
Cost no object?