• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

30W sweep tube amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Howdy, Folks:

While not new to tubes, I am relatively new to the DIY hobby of designing and building tube amplifiers.
I have been in the downhole oil/gas industry for several decades, designing high temperature analog and power electronics, with the added requirement of very high reliability (which flies in the face of the high temperature, fun, huh!!).
Wanted to do something challenging and a little different. After reading numerous vintage articles (Crowhurst and the likes), I have decided to go the UL route. After looking at many candidate tubes, the sweep and RF transmitter tubes started to make a lot of sense. Finally have settled on the 6CB5 (after seriously considering the 1625, 12V version of the 807). Had to design a simulation tool to investigate its transfer and plate curves for UL operation, that was fun in itself.
Anyway, nothing concrete yet except for the overall topology of full differential from the input to the output transformer, as much DC coupling as possible and lots of local feedback loops, with no loop covering more than one RC constant.
Solid state CCS don't bother me a bit, they will be used instead of pentodes (no concerns about heater/cathode potentials plus lower minimum voltage) and modern SMPS for heater and likely +B.
I'll be concerned more about proper circuit design, things like operating points, phase shifts, levels, in short, the basics all around.