• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Holco H4P Resistors, Should I use them?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi everyone,

I have stash of H4P resistors and I am thinking of using them for my latest tube amp project. I have never used them before but a few people have said on the web that they are unreliable and can let go at a 100V drop. (This was only one source)

The spec sheet suggests 500V.

Anyone have a similar experience? I don't want to put them in my amp and then have them let go left and right a week later. If they are no good Ill have to get something else because that is all I have.

Thanks
Matt

Hey there,

unless Holco is a very unreliable manufacturer (don't know them), the stated specs should be reached - though it might be wise to not stretch them to the outermost limits.

If spec sheet says 500V, I would use them up to 400V maybe, depending on criticality of their duty, power dissipation and other boundary conditions.

Greetings,
Andreas

Hi everyone,

I have stash of H4P resistors and I am thinking of using them for my latest tube amp project. I have never used them before but a few people have said on the web that they are unreliable and can let go at a 100V drop. (This was only one source)

The spec sheet suggests 500V.

Anyone have a similar experience? I don't want to put them in my amp and then have them let go left and right a week later. If they are no good Ill have to get something else because that is all I have.

Thanks
Matt

The best resistors for a tube amp are metal film or bulk metal foil.
FYI nobody has produced an audio resistor quieter than bulk metal foil. It's the ultimate.