• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

possible project for me, tube preamp.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
i'm an EE student with a little knowledge of circuts, mostly picked up as i go. i think audio is neat, but don't really call myself an audiophile. i hate hiss.

in any case, i'm building an amp for some spekaers for my computer. i'm wondering if a tube amp or tube preamplifer is a feasible thing to try. i already have parts for a gainclone (except for PCB).

since i know about nothing about tubes (and you can insert links that explain their useage and how they work) i am at a slight disadvantage.

in the end, i'm looking for something that will change the sound noticably, hopefully in a good way, and be cheap.

since i am a college student, i have limited funds.

so is a cheap tube preamp feasible?

theChris said:
in any case, i'm building an amp for some spekaers for my computer. i'm wondering if a tube amp or tube preamplifer is a feasible thing to try. i already have parts for a gainclone (except for PCB).

You won't need a preamp as the S/C should put out enough voltage to drive a poweramp. Just put a VC at the input.

since i know about nothing about tubes (and you can insert links that explain their useage and how they work) i am at a slight disadvantage.

The Grounded Cathode Amplifier article at Tubecad is the best. When you understand that, read the rest of the site.

in the end, i'm looking for something that will change the sound noticably, hopefully in a good way, and be cheap.

If you want a tone control, simply design them ito the circuit. A good tube amp won't colour the sound appreciably, unless it's designed to like a guitar amp.