• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

PP triode transformer load

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, I'm currently trying to design af push pull triode amp with inspiration from ZVex's IMPamp. That mean that I am using the dual triode 6021 as output tube and LED cathode bias. This is my first time built from scratch and I am trying to figure out what output transformer I need.

I recently bought a pair of OT's rated 5W with a 4ohm secondary and a 10kCT primary winding. I plan to use 8ohm speakers and guees that this will reflect back an 20kCT load.

The sylvania 6021 datasheet shows 165 maximum plate voltage - I plan to use 160V. I've read at valvewizard.co.uk that a blue LED drops 3 voltage at the cathode.

I've attached the plate curves with my load lines - will this setup work or am I pushing the tube to hard?

Best regards

Thomas

Attachments

• 6021Loadline.jpg
    6021Loadline.jpg
    181.9 KB · Views: 267
Hi rman, thank you for your reply:)

yeah, the red line is the maximum plate dissipation. I plan to operate the triodes in class A - should I lower the plate voltage?

There are so many things wrong with your picture (considering your description) that I don't know where to start :(

First of all, what kind of load do you intend to drive ? Unless it's some extremely efficient speaker or curiously low impedance headphones you're probably going to be dissapointed by the sub-1W output power.