• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

YAAGLI - Yet Another Aikido Ground Loop Issue

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Good day Gents,

This is my first post here so bear with me. I'm a complete beginner when it comes to electronics but i have the motto that you have to try to learn something.

Either way my current learning project is an Aikido pre-amp based on an all-in-one octal kit. Everything is assembled and working fine when not using a volume potentiometer.

I have looked everywhere on how to actually connect those things to not create ground-loops, but i seem to have failed quite drastically there :)

I have used my non-existing image editing skills to create a sort of overview of how all inputs and outputs are connected which can be seen in the image below ->

GroundSchema.png

The input connectors are to the top left, and all hot signals goes to the signal selector and then continue to the pot. The grounds of the inputs are connected channelwise and then connected to the input grounds on the PCB.

The signal output from the potentiometer are connected to the signal inputs on the PCB. The ground from the pot are connected together (the left&right and the pot housing ground) and then directly to the main G in the center of the PCB. I guess that this approach is quite wrong but i'm unsure how it actually works. The ground from the pot, isn't that just something that needs to be "dumped" out somewhere?

The safety ground (third prong) is connected via a set of diodes (image below) to J7 (to the upper left of the pcb in the picture above), and the pcb is then connected to the top metal chassis trough with a screw.