• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Good choices for a first tube amp?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello!

I have some experience in building my own electronic stuff (and theoretical background as I'm an EE by training). In recent years I've been contemplating building my first tube amp. Finally I'm getting closer to realizing this plan: I'm actually thinking of buying some parts :cannotbe:

Next week I'll be on a business trip in Japan, and I've planned to visit some of the shops in Akihabara (Tokyo). I'll try to find the output transformers for my project there. Specifically I've been eyeing James OPTs, which are sold by Hino Audio.

My only "problem" at this stage is to decide what type of amp to build. The choices I've had in my mind are:
- SE 2A3 amplifier
- PP 2A3 (6B4G) amplifier
- PP EL84

A few watts should be enough, as I will eventually use the amplifier in a biamped system with fairly sensitive mid/high units. I've found some promising schematics for all the mentioned types of amps.

I'm interested in building a good amplifier which whould serve as a worthy introduction into "tube magic". I believe that there can be significant differences between the amplifiers mentioned and therefore I'd appreciate your comments on the choices. Please a feel free to suggest other tubes / amplifiers as well! I'm also interested in some experiences from fellow travellers. Any good schematics you could recommend?

Best regards,
Pekka U.

James transformers for the project?

dhaen said:

I believe James transformers are not Japanese, but Malaysian or Taiwanese.
This might mean that the price in Japan is not the best deal on these.

These people stock them: