• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Silvertone Multiplex Stereo Model No. 4092 Questions

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi I'm new here and a total noob, sorry if I don't know all of the technical jargon. :(
I have a Sears Roebuck Silvertone Multiplex Stereo Model No. 4092, seen here. I have several questions....and was hoping somebody could help. Thanks so much for your time!

1. How much is this thing worth? I got it from my neighbor for free when she moved into an assisted living facility, this thing is pretty much cherry (some wear on the wood but that is it). I'm sure my neighbor was the original owner and from what I can tell its never been opened up. I ask cause my husband wants me to sell it since we don't have the room for it. But I love it and want to keep it. Which leads to question 2.

2. Its not working quite right, (and if I could get it working, I would have a better case with dh) I'll break the problems out for reading ease...
2a. It seems the arm isn't working quite right, I'll put it on the 33 setting, and when it the arm moves onto the record it goes to the middle of the record (like its going to the beginning of a 45). And usually once this happens the arm it gets unhappy and returns to its off position. Is this something I could fix?
2b. I'm also having to spin the turntable by hand to get it going. Once its going, the speed seems okay. But I'm pretty sure this thing is suppose to spin up on its own.