• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Ideas for a simple 6080/6AS7 Push-Pull amplifier

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have some 6080 valves which I would like to use in a simple-to-build yet good sounding P-P amp. I think this circuit from another thread fulfils these criteria:

http://www.excite-webtl.jp/world/english/web/?wb_url=ja1cty.servehttp.com/&wb_lp=JAEN&wb_dis=2

It uses a differential amplifier by a pair of Hi-gm of C3g. I have some hi-gm E180F pentodes which I think can replace the C3g. Is this so? As I'm not good at valve theory I would like to know what resistor changes this involves. Also, does such a circuit require a driver stage at the input in order to produce sufficient gain? I will be driving the amplifier from a separate 15-20dB linestage.

Thanks to all prospective helpers!

Best wishes and regards to all diy-ers.

Joe A

Hi,
i once built a simple little 6080 PP amp with a single ended front end driving an interstage transformer to do the phase splitting. I used a suboptimal interstage which compromised the top end somewhat. If you can afford a pair of Lundahl LL1660 I highly recommend this approach.
I have been toying with the idea of a new design using a direct coupled LTP into 6080 finals, with partial feedback to drive the output impedance down.
My experience was that 6080's work extremely well at 100V and 100mA, so a split rail design with about +/-130V would do the trick. If you are interested i could lash up a schematic of my ideas. The only thing I have not decided on is what driver valve would fit the bill. It would need to work comfortably at about 100V on the plate and sinking about 1-2mA of current and a gain of about 20.

Shoog