• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

A newbie need helps on the very 1st tube PreAmp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello all,

I'm a newbie & currently building my tube pre-amp.
Some people say it's cloned from Marantz-7 preamp,
but I don't know exactly (PCB picture is attached).

I got the PCB & all the components as a "gift" &
the paper that I have on it just the part list
(without the schematic or further explanation).
Later, by browsing I found the schematic but less
of information about constructing it.

1. I need some helps/info about the final step of
constructing it since I never done tube preamp.
What things should I care for?
2. What is the use of VR1 on the PSU section or when we "use" it?
3. How should I connect all the GROUND/EARTH cables
to prevent or at least reduce the noise/hiss?
4. I use the R-Core transformer type, do I need to
add Soft-Start Circuit for this type transformer?

I would really appreciate for any answer/help.
Thanks.

Attachments

• pcb.jpg
    pcb.jpg
    68.3 KB · Views: 248
Hi Cruzs,

Your preamp is very similar to the line section of a Marantz 7. The slight difference is that the Marantz uses all 12AX7s, no 12AU7s as you can see here.

The purpose of VR1 in the power supply regulator is to adjust the output voltage. Probably by a limited amount just to trim the level.