• WARNING: Tube/Valve amplifiers use potentially LETHAL HIGH VOLTAGES.
    Building, troubleshooting and testing of these amplifiers should only be
    performed by someone who is thoroughly familiar with
    the safety precautions around high voltages.

Hammond PR20

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all.
New here. My name is Duke.

I'm looking for answers, and hope someone has some ideas.

I am an electronics tech, just not an engineer.

The secenario: A friend obtained an old Hammond PR20 Tone Cabinet. Since none of us have an organ to connect it to, we decided to see about modding it for guitar.

I downloaded the schematics from Capatin Foldback's site (Lars Mikael...a nice, helpful person), and proceeded to experiment. Here's his site, BTW: http://www.captain-foldback.com/

I emailed him, and he said I needed a transformer to interface a 1/4" jack to the G1 and G2 inputs (and ground) of the three amplifier sections. So, I ordered one from Tonewheel General and installed it. (It's the HS122XB Input Transformer here:
http://www.tonewheelgeneral.com/build_page.php?category=Leslie+Speaker+Parts&subcat=Transformers

I also connected a grounded cord, switch and fuse for power. Checked all the tubes...all very good.

Lit up the first time. I knew I was going to have some level problems even before I plugged anything in. I took a POD 2.0, and a Yamaha DG Stomp over to see what they would do. Well, they only put out a few volts, cranked. They played, but volume was low. I knew that would happen, so I plugged each into an ART Tube MP preamp, and pushed the +20dB button. NOW, it was getting closer. But the highest clean signal (before clipping) I could get out of the combinations was about 16V. (I had an O'Scope measuring, and I was also testing with a sine wave from a signal generator).